Skip to content Skip to navigation

Emmanuel Music presents: Rising from Darkness

Wednesday, April 4, 2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Registration is required
Members $20 and Non-members $30

Emmanuel Music presents: Rising from Darkness

Vanessa Holroyd, Franziska Huhn, and Daniel Doña

Flutist Vanessa Holroyd, violist Daniel Doña, and harpist Franziska Huhn perform works of talented artists, including Toru Takemitsu ’s And then I knew t’was wind and Debussy’s Sonata for Flute, Harp and Viola.



Program to include:

Sonata in g minor, BWV 1020 (attrib. to C.P.E. Bach, H. 542.5)

I. Allegro

II. Adagio

III. Allegro

Sonata for Flute, Harp and Viola (1915), Debussy (1862-1918)

 I.Pastorale. Lento, dolce rubato

 II. Interlude: Tempo di Minuetto

 III. Finale. Allegro moderato ma risoluto

And then I knew t’was wind (1992), Toru Takemitsu [1930-1996]

Like Rain it sounded till it curved, Emily Dickinson

Like Rain it sounded till it curved

And then I new 'twas Wind —

It walked as wet as any Wave

But swept as dry as sand —

When it had pushed itself away

To some remotest Plain

A coming as of Hosts was heard

It filled the Wells, it pleased the Pools

It warbled in the Road —

It pulled the spigot from the Hills

And let the Floods abroad —

It loosened acres, lifted seas

The sites of Centres stirred

Then like Elijah rode away

Upon a Wheel of Cloud.

Elegiac Trio (1916), Arnold Bax [1883-1953]

This program is supported, in part, by a grant from the Massachusetts Cultural Council, a state agency.  



Assistive Listening Devices image

Most programs held in the Bayard Henry Long Room on the Athenaeum's first floor are amplified and assistive listening devices are available for patron use.

ASL Interpretation image

To request ASL interpretation services for any of the Athenaeum's programs, please contact Hannah Weisman at 617-720-7617 or