Skip to content Skip to navigation

Books Related to Athenæum Events Autumn 2016

Listed below are books relevant to some of the topics presented this autumn. We have not included the books featured at the event—as everyone can easily find those. This is only a small sampling of suggestions; please feel free to browse the shelves where these books are to discover more.

Heroism and Hubris, Thursday, September 8, 6:00–7:00 p.m.

Charles Dickens and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Wednesday, September 14, 6:00–7:00 p.m.​

Between Two Revolutions: Nature's God in America 1776–1865, Wednesday, September 21, 12:00–1:00 p.m.

Children’s Event: Back-to-School in Pictures with Illustrator Maja Löfdahl, Saturday, September 24, 1:00–2:00 p.m.

Immigration on Display: Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty Monuments, Thursday, September 29, 6:00–7:00 p.m.​

Daniel Chester French: The Female Form Revealed​​, Thursday, October 6, 5:30–​7:30 p.m.

The Lively Place, Tuesday, October 11, 12:00–1:00 p.m.​

Les Parisiennnes, Thursday, October 20, 6:00–7:00 p.m.

After the Oath: Policy Questions for a New President, Tuesday, October 25, 6:00–7:30 p.m.​

Eye of the Expert: Home and Garden: Domestic Material Culture in the Collections of the Boston Athenæum, Wednesday, October 26, 5:30–7:30 p.m.​

This Monstrous Thing: A Young Adult Frankenstein Reimagining, Saturday, October 29, 1:00–2:00 p.m.​

Museums Without Walls: The Sculpture Collection of the Boston Common, the Public Garden, and the Commonwealth Avenue Mall, Tuesday, November 1, 12–1:00 p.m.​

George Washington’s Library at the Athenæum: Transatlantic Dialogues of Slavery and Freedom, Wednesday, November 2, 6:00–7:00 p.m.​

A Conservation Evening, Thursday, November 3, 6:00–8:00 p.m.​

Daniel Chester French: The Female Form Revealed, Thursday, November 10, 6:00–7:00 p.m.

The Vicissitudes of Pluralism, Tuesday, November 15, 6:00–7:00 p.m.​

Black Pepper: Taste a Revolutionary Story, Wednesday, November 16, 5:30–7:00 p.m.​

A Celebration of Yehudi Wyner, Monday, November 21, 6:00–7:00 p.m.​

A Cemetery’s Lament:  Desecration and Responsibility along Vienna’s Gürtel , Tuesday, November 22, 12–1 p.m.​

The Art of Rivalry, Monday, November 28, 6:00–7:00 p.m.

Performance: Dear Bunny, Dear Volodya, Thursday, December 8, 6:00–7:00 p.m.​

Concert: Tye Austin, Sunday, December 11, 1:00–3:00 p.m.

Muslims in America Since 1619, Tuesday, December 13, 6:00–7:00 p.m.

Book Talk: Nathaniel Bowditch and the Power of Numbers, Thursday, December 15, 6:00–7:00 p.m.​