Skip to content Skip to navigation

Books Related to Athenæum Events Winter 2019

Listed below are books relevant to some of the topics presented this winter. We have not included the books featured at the event—as everyone can easily find those. This is only a small sampling of suggestions; please feel free to browse the shelves where these books are to discover more.

The Hurricane’s Eye, Monday, December 3, 2018, 6:00–7:00 p.m.

Thomson Endowed Lecture: Nature’s Design: Land, Water, and Climate Change in Boston, Monday, December 10, 2018, 6–7:00 p.m.

After Emily: Two Remarkable Women and the Legacy of America’s Greatest Poet, Tuesday, January 8, 2019, 12:00–1:00 p.m.

Silence: A Social History of One of the Least Understood Elements of Our Lives​, Tuesday, January 22, 2019, 12–1:00 p.m.

Undermining Racism Series: Martin Luther King Now: Toward a Public Philosophy of Justice, Democracy, and Peace for the 21st Century, Thursday, January 31, 2019, 6:00–7:00 p.m.

Undermining Racism Series: Fair Game: Surviving a 1960 Georgia Lynching, Thursday, February 7, 2019 5:30–8:00 p.m.​​

Emmanuel Music Presents: Music of Benjamin Britten, Wednesday, February 13, 2019, 6:00–7:00 p.m.

Enlightenment Now with Steven Pinker, Wednesday, February 20, 2019, 12:00–1:00 p.m.

The Role of the Black Intellectual Today, Wednesday, February 20, 2019 6:00–7:00 p.m.

Sublime Impressions: Prints and Printmakers of the Grand Canyon, Tuesday, March 5, 2019, 12:00–1:00 p.m.

Undermining Racism Series: Driving While Black, Thursday, March 7, 2019, 6:00–7:00 p.m.

Nationalism: Here, There, and Everywhere?, Wednesday, March 13, 2019 6:00–7:00 p.m.

John Hubbard Sturgis Eaton endowed Lecture: Homer at the Beach, Thursday, March 21, 2019, 6:00–7:00 p.m.

Girl In Black and White, Friday, March 22, 2019, 12:00–1:00 p.m.

The Trial of Lizzie Borden, Thursday, March 28, 2019, 12:00–1:00 p.m.